Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Episode Review


I Wish I was a Wombatman


Sunday, February 15, 2004, 7:00 PM - Sunday, April 25, 2004, 10:47 PM


Summary (7:00 PM - 9:41 PM; Tuesday, February 18, 2004, 5:50 PM - 6:29 PM; Friday, March 12, 2004, 8:05 PM - 9:00 PM; Saturday, March 13, 2004, 8:50 PM - 10:44 PM)

Live from Marblopolis Studio World, Wombatman is doing an episode of his TV series. At the Palace of Power, Kid Icarus imitates his stunts and ends up getting hung upside-down from a rope, which is attached to one of Kid's arrows, which is stuck in the ceiling. He falls down just as Simon walks into the room, carrying a plate and a glass of milk. Kid lands on Simon, causing him to spill the food and milk. The rest of the N Team arrives in the room. Lana asks Kid what he's been doing. Duke licks the food from Kid's face. Kid says that he was practicing the Wombat Roll but can't get it right. Simon insults Wombatman. On TV, the robot that Wombatman is fighting goes out of control. The N Team goes to Studio World to help.

The N Team arrives on Studio World. Kevin lands the ship on a roof. They go down the stairs. The robot attacks the building, causing part of the roof to collapse on Simon. The N Team exits the building. "Wombatman" is destroyed by the robot. Kid picks up the right hand and tells "Wombatman" to speak to him. Lana tells him that it's only a robot. Kid is disappointed to learn that "Wombatman doesn't do his own heroic stunts". The giant robot is holding two squid people. Kevin tells Gameboy to locate the robot's control box. Gameboy sings while doing so. Kid uses a buzzsaw arrow to cut a hole in the robot. Kevin fires through the hole, causing the robot to explode. Mega Man catches the large vehicle containing the squid people. One of the squid people is the director. He asks the N Team if they want to be in pictures. Kid declines, but Simon accepts. The female squid hugs Simon, making him uncomfortable.

The N Team is taken to Wombatman's house, where he autographs a picture of himself and a woman for Kid. Wombatman tells Kid that he hasn't done his own stunts in years. Wombatman's dog butler, Elmer, brings one of many Wombatman costumes to Wombatman. Wombatman undos his robe and drops it to the floor. He puts on his costume and uses some breath spray. Wombatman says that he's busy, offers the N Team a tour of the studio as his "special guests", and leaves the room with Elmer through a lift in the floor, which goes down. Kevin tries to comfort Kid. Kid wants to take the tour. He wonders if Wombatman is just having a bad day.

It turns out that Mother Brain had captured Nicki, Wombatman's girlfriend (the woman in the picture), and said that she'd let her go, if Wombatman helped MB get the N Team here. MB was behind the giant robot. MB shocks Wombatman.

The N Team gets on a tram for the studio tour. The Eggplant Wizard moves a lever. Kevin zaps two hopping baddies and says "Well, I think this tour is hot." A Dragonlord robot appears and breathes flames at the N Team. The N Team gets out of the tram, and the tram goes off of a cliff on fire. King Hippo moves a lever and send a Donkey Kong robot to the N Team. It knocks down some barrels at the N Team. Kevin zaps some of them, then the N Team turns and leaves. They exit the tour.

Mother Brain complains at Hippo and Eggy for failing then throws them against a wall. Wombatman gives them advice for surviving a fall. MB picks him up and complains. MB wants Wombatman to help her "get rid of the N Team once and for all" on his show. Wombatman protests. MB tells him to do it for Nicki. She opens the floor of Nicki's cage. Nicki dangles over a lava warp and yells. MB laughs. Wombatman begs MB to not hurt Nicki and agrees to "do anything". MB closes the floor.

Wombatman is sitting by his swimming pool, relaxing and drinking. He gives Kid Icarus advice about doing the Wombat Roll. Kid falls in the pool. Kid wants Wombatman to show him how to do the Wombat Roll. Wombatman gets mad, slams his drink on the table, and says that he doesn't do that stuff anymore. Kid asks if he's chicken. Wombatman gets more mad, pounds the table with his fist, knocks the glass off of the table, jumps on his chair, and says that he's "afraid of nothing and nobody". Then he jumps off of his chair, kicks his umbrella table over, and walks away. Kid wonders what he said.

MB sees all of this on the viewscreen and asks how her "new little toy" is coming. Eggy says that it's all done. Hippo pulls the cover off of a giant black marble - "the N Team Destructo Black Marble". MB pulls a lever to activate the marble. A magnet comes out of the top of the marble and pulls King Hippo, by his crown, up to it. Eggy makes fun of Hippo. A vacuum comes out of the top of the marble nad sucks Eggy into it. Vegetables pop out of him. Nicki tells MB that her "Womby" won't let her get away with this. MB asks how he's gonna stop her. Wombatman falls towards MB and kicks her glass jar, knocking her over. MB yells for Hippo and Eggy to stop him. Hippo runs at him. Wombatman performes his "Wombat Roll", kicking Hippo in the stomach. Hippo falls and hits his head on the marble.Eggy fires tomatoes at Wombatman with his veggie wand. Wombatman spins around, deflecting them back at Eggy, who falls over. It turns out that this Wombatman is just another robot. MB notices the real Wombatman, in a dark area, controlling the robot with a joystick. She picks up Wombatman and the robot with her tentacles and holds them upside-down. She asks the real Wombatman to "please stand up". Wombatman points at the robot. MB shocks the robot, destroying it. She throws Wombatman to the floor. Wombatman apologizes to Nicki. Nicki says that's okay.

Outside, the N Team is about to film the shot of them coming to help Wombatman defeat "evil alien invaders". The director asks where the crewmen are with his spaceship. Hippo and Eggy arrive, wearing yellow shirts and red caps, with the marble. Wombatman and Kid Icarus won't be needed to save the day until the last scene. The director says this will be his best show ever. Mother Brain, watching on the viewscreen, says this will be her best show ever. She pushes a lever. The director calls action. Simon curls his whip around a hovering stoplight and swings towards the "spaceship". An oil gun comes out of the marble and sprays the stoplight with oil, causing Simon's whip to lose its grip and Simon to fall. Mega Man runs over and catches him. The magnet comes out of the marble and pulls Mega Man and Simon up to it. The director believes that this is "ad-libbing" and tells them to continue. Lana jumps and grabs a bar. The vacuum starts sucking Lana. Lana yells to Kevin for help. Taking their "cue", Kevin, Duke, and Gameboy come out of a manhole. The bar breaks, and Lana gets sucked into the vacuum. Kevin and Duke run over to the vacuum, Gameboy flying after them.

Kid Icarus is watching this on Wombatman's TV. The TV screen is in a wombat shape - with ears at the top. Kid says that it sounds like Lana is in trouble. Wombatman, sitting and reading a magazine, says that it's acting. Kevin yelling that it's for real convinces Kid that his teammates are in trouble.

The oil gun squirts oil. Kevin and Duke get stuck in the oil. Kevin yells for Gameboy to give them a hand, but Gameboy's hands, which come out of his screen, can't reach them. Kevin tells him that this is no time for jokes. Kevin draws his Zapper and twirls it. A cord comes out of the marble, enters Kevin's Zapper, and drains its power. Another cord comes out of the marble, enters a hole in Gameboy's back, and drains his power. Gameboy's screen goes black, and he falls down. Kevin tries pressing the trigger on his Zapper and realizes that his power's been drained, too. The cord pulls Kevin's Zapper away. A claw comes out of the marble and heads for Kevin.

Kid Icarus begs Wombatman to help him save his friends. Wombatman dismisses it. Kid asks what kind of a hero he is. Wombatman says that he isn't a hero; he's an actor. He throws his magazine on the floor.

Kevin, Duke, and Gameboy get pulled into the marble.

Kid asks Wombatman about his creed. Wombatman walks over to his wombat-shaped mirror and presses a button. He sees the marble rolling. He shuts off the TV. He tells Kid that Mother Brain's "gonna nix Nicki" is he doesn't deliver the N Team. Kid is shocked to learn that Wombatman helped MB. Wombatman puts himself down, but Kid insists that he's Wombatman. Inspired, Wombatman presses the other button. The swimming pool floor parts, and the Wombatmobile rises up.

The episode's featured song starts. It's the "Wombatman" theme song, based on the 1960s "Batman" theme song. Wombatman and Kid Icarus take off in the Wombatmobile. MB sends vultures at them. A fake hand comes out of Wombatman's belt and holds the steering wheel. Wombatman throws a wombatarang and defeats the vultures. The marble squirts a red liquid at the Wombatmobile. Wombatman presses the two buttons on his steering wheel at the same time. A fan comes out of the mouth of the Wombatmobile and deflects the red liquid. The marble then squirts the red liquid onto the bridge. It's acid, and it eats away at the bridge, leaving a gap. Wombatman hits the brake, and the Wombatmobile comes to a halt right before the gap. Wombatman gets out of the Wombatmobile, walks over to the gap, and looks at it. The marble enters a tunnel. A door starts closing. Kid gets out of the Wombatmobile and shoots an arrow to keep the door from closing. The song ends.

Kid tells Wombatman to use his Wombat Roll. Wombatman says that he hasn't done that stunt in years. His knees shake. He grabs a rope from his belt, twirls it, and throws it. The hook hooks onto a rail. Wombatman swings. Kid is holding onto his right leg. The door breaks the arrow. Wombatman calls for the Wombat Roll. Both he and Kid perform it successfully and enter the tunnel right before the door closes.

They're in Mother Brain's room. Hippo and Eggy raise their hands. Wombatman presses a button on his belt and launches a mini wombat grenade at the control panel. Hippo and Eggy hug each other. The control panel is destroyed. Nicki's cage is lowered, and the beam bars turn off. A door at the bottom of the marble opens, and the rest of the N Team exits it. Lana compliments Kid Icarus. Nicki is kneeling and hugging "Womby". MB makes angry gestures with her tentacles and yells at Wombatman. Hippo and Eggy are standing on her tank and making angry gestures as well. Mega Man picks up MB's tank (with Hippo and Eggy being held by MB's tentacles). Wombatman walks over to a door and holds his finger near a button by the door. Megaman throws MB's tank. Wombatman presses the button. The door opens. MB, Hippo, and Eggy slide down a bridge loop. Wombatman and Kid Icarus do a high five. The director arrives in his hovercraft, giving praises and saying that they got it all on film. He wants Kid Icarus to stay and be Wombatman's sidekick. Kid Icarus and Wombatman look at each other. Kid considers it. Wombatman encourages it. Kid declines, saying that he likes being a real hero better. Simon approves of Kid's choice, takes his mirror out of his backpack, and straightens his hair. Nicki kneels, hugs Wombatman, and compliments him. The squid woman enters to give make-up. Simon yells, tosses his mirror, and runs away, yelling, "Last one to the Warp Wagon drives home!" The squid woman chases him out the door. The rest of the N Team, Wombatman, and Nicki stare for a moment. Kevin smiles and says "Well, I guess that's a wrap."


Misc. Tidbits (Saturday, March 13, 2004, 10:45 PM - 10:49 PM)

The episode was written by Sean Roche & David Ehrman.

The original air date and order of this episode is unknown as of the time of this writing. If I find it out later, I'll mention it in a future review - assuming that I'm not done with the reviews by then.

I first saw this episode on NBC, then possibly The Family Channel, then possibly on "Captain N & The Video Game Masters".


Interesting Notes (10:49 PM - 10:51 PM)

The title is white with no quotes.

Kevin's Zapper beams are blue in this episode.

Kevin's weapons don't lose power in this episode - until the power drain.

The N Team's ship is called the Warp Wagon.

Metroid isn't in this episode.


Great Lines (Monday, March 15, 2004, 8:38 PM - 10:32 PM)

Director: "Oh, that was the most heroic stuff I ever seen. You wanna be in pictures?"
Kid Icarus: "Goshicus, no. Uh, I just wanna meet the real Wombatman."
Simon: "Speak for youself, shrimpo! Shall we talk contracts?"

(after the squid woman grips Simon)
Kevin: "Looks like your first fan's got a crush on you, Simon."
Simon: "Very funny, Captain N."

Kid Icarus: "But, uh, I've always tried to be a hero - just like youicus."
Wombatman: "Tell you what, kid. Put some lifts in your boots, take a speech class to get rid of that 'icus' problem, and I'll put in a good word for you with the studio."

Kevin: "Hey, cheer up. He's just a TV hero. You're a real one."

Kevin: "Aw, poor kid. It's tough when your hero lets you down."

Mother Brain: "That's whatcha get for believin' me."

Nicki: "Womby, my precious, does it hurt?"
Wombatman: "There's a name for my pain, and it's Mother Brain."

Mother Brain: "They're about to get the ride of their lives,...or should I say...the ride of their deaths?"

Eggplant Wizard: "Hey, King Hippo, how do you like your N Team? Well done or extra crispy?"

Wombatman: "Ya know, you really wanna break a hard fall like that, you wanna kinda tuck your head in, you wanna kinda roll your shoulders, you wanna - ah!"
Mother Brain: "You wanna kinda shut up?"

(after King Hippo gets pulled up by a magnet)
Eggplant Wizard: "I always knew you had a magnetic personality, King Hippo!"

(after he kicks King Hippo)
Wombatman: "What's the matter, King Hippo? Catch a little...boot-in-mouth disease?"

Eggplant Wizard: "Here's tomatoes in your eye!"
Wombatman: "I had more tomatoes than that thrown at me when I first started acting."

Wombatman: "I'm sorry, Nicki. I tried."
Nicki: "That's okay, Womby. You'll always be my number one guy."
Mother Brain: "Who cares? After I finish off the N Team, I'll be number one Queen of Videoland."

Director: "Oh, this will be my best show ever."
Mother Brain: "Wrong, one-eye; this will be my best show ever."

Mega Man: "What the mega magnet's going on?!"
Director: "I didn't call for ad-libbing! But I like it; continue."

Lana: "Kevin, help! I'm being inhaled!"

Kid Icarus: "It sounded like Her Highness is in maximus trouble-icus."
Wombatman: "Relax, kid. It's called acting."

Kid Icarus: "Wombatman, you've gotta help me save my friends."
Wombatman: "That's showbiz, kid. One minute, you're on top; the next, you're canceled. Get out while ya can."

Wombatman: "You really believe in me that much?"
Kid Icarus: "Now, it's up to you to believe in yourself."

Nicki: "Oh, Womby, I always knew you were destined for greatness."
Wombatman: "Hold that thought until I get back."

Mother Brain: "Put me down, you muscle-bound midget!"
Wombatman: "Anything to please a lady."

Director: "Kid Icarus, you must stay and be Wombatman's sidekick."
Kid Icarus: "Me? Wombatman's sidekickirus?"
Wombatman: "We'd make a great team, kid, and you'd love being a TV hero."
Kid Icarus: "Thanks, but, no, thanks, Wombatman. I like being a real hero better."
Simon: "Good choice, Icarus. Us real heroes gotta stick together."
Nicki: "And I'm sticking with mine. He's not just a hero; he's a real...nice guy."

Simon: "Last one to the Warp Wagon drives home!"


Dumb Lines (Monday, March 15, 2004, 8:05 PM - 10:32 PM)

Wombatman and Kid Icarus: "Wombatman's heroic hands save the day wherever he lands!"
This is Wombatman's creed. It's spoken three times throughout the episode (four if you count Wombatman and Kid Icarus saying it simultaneously in the first scene). It just sounds really corny.

Wombatman: "You'll never escape Wombatman, you robo-dodo."
Another corny line.

Announcer: "Uh, please stand by. Uh, we seem to be experiencing some technical difficulty."
Lana: "Is that part of the show?"
Uh, of course, it is, Lana. Um, yeah...

Director: "I am thee director, und I command you to shtop!"
Does he really think that an out-of-control robot is going to listen to him?

Kid Icarus: "We have to go help them!"
Kevin: "He's right! Let's hit it, N Team!"
Simon: "But I'm going to miss 'Weird World of Spirits'!"
Why is Simon on the team again?

Simon: "If this is 'The Wombatman Adventure Hour', how come we're the ones having the adventure?"
Because you're on an emergency mission, maybe?

(lifting a severed hand after the Wombatman robot has exploded)
Kid Icarus: "Wombatman! Speak to me!"
Kid has just seen "Wombatman" explode and come apart, and he's expecting him to be alive?!

Gameboy: (singing) "The diode's connected to the disk driiive! The disk drive's connected to the baaack!"
Did Gameboy really have to sing that?

Simon: "It's amateurs like him that give us real heroes a bad name."
So says the traitor/goof-off/slacker.

Kid Icarus: "Maybe Wombatman is just having a bad day."
Right; that would explain the laziness and the bad shape that he's in.

Kevin: "Hmmm, first an out-of-control robot, then a fired-up dragon. I'm beginning to smell a rat!"
Only beginning to, Kev?

(after a robot of Donkey Kong appears)
Simon: "Yeah, a big, hairy one."
Uh, Donkey Kong is a robot, Simon, not a rat.

Wombatman: "No! Not my show! It's - It's sacred to Wombatman fans all over Videoland!"
Sadly, there are obsessed fans that do consider a television series to be sacred.

Nicki: "Ooh, Womby, this is just like the episode where you rescued me from the reptwoman."
What normal person would remember something like that when being held prisoner?

Wombatman: "I'm a has-been, a tomorrow guy, a coulda-been, a zero."
A tomorrow guy? That kinda contradicts the rest of the statement.

Wombatman: "You've rolled your last marble, Mother Brain."
Please, stop with the corny hero lines!


Rant (Tuesday, March 16, 2004, 6:00 PM - 6:57 PM; Wednesday, April 14, 2004, 7:18 PM - 8:00 PM, 11:25 PM - 11:52 PM; Thursday, April 15, 2004, 10:00 PM - 10:02 PM; Thursday, April 22, 2004, 6:10 PM - 6:14 PM, 9:30 PM - 9:58 PM; 10:15 PM - 10:23 PM; 11:01 PM - 11:58 PM; Friday, April 23, 2004, 8:30 PM - 8:51 PM; Sunday, April 25, 2004, 12:30 PM - 12:46 PM, 2:00 PM - 2:55 PM, 4:26 PM - 4:48 PM, 8:28 PM - 8:33 PM; 9:47 PM - 10:47 PM)

What the hell was this?

This episode is bad on so many levels. It's also, by no coincidence, my least-watched episode of Captain N.

Let's start at the beginning.

Jeffrey Scott created Wombatman back in Season 1 as a gag character for a few-second appearance in one scene in "The Most Dangerous Game Master". Now, an entire episode has been written about that character. Imagine if a Star Trek writer wrote an entire episode based on a character that, in one scene in one episode in the previous season, had said "Good morning, Captain". Such things shouldn't be done.

I do like how the original voice actors for Wombatman and Nicki (who went unnamed in "Thge Most Dangerous Game Master"; is she named in the script?) were brought back for this episode, though.

Marblopolis Studio World, the world in this episode, isn't even from any video game. I'm guessing that it was created just to allow for an episode to be made based on the "Batman" NES game - using a thinly-disguised Batman rip-off. Even Kid Icarus is wearing a Robin-like mask.

What the hell kind of name is Marblopolis, anyway?

Why is "The Wombatman Adventure Hour" performed live? It's a big opportunity for stuff to go wrong. I've heard of sitcoms and soap operas being performed live sometimes. An action/adventure series is much more complicated, though. Maybe it's a one-time special thing; it would be rather stupid if they did it every week.

I can understand Kid Icarus looking up to Wombatman, but he should know enough to not kick over a piece of furniture and damage the ceiling with an arrow. Lana would get so mad. Why is Kid Icarus on the N Team again?

I guess the Palace is not made of metal, like I had thought.

Remember how Simon had called "Wombatman" his "favorite" back in "The Most Dangerous Game Master"? Why does he hate him now? Maybe the show (it could have been a movie in Season 1 for all we know) started sucking, and Simon gave up on it?

I'm beginning to reconsider my stance on Lana being the smartest member of the team.

The TV picture fuzzed up during the robot attack, so why did it suddenly clear up?

Simon considers a TV series to be more important than a rescue mission. Y'know, I'm beginning to think that Lana hired this guy due soley to word-of-mouth.

Apparently, Kid Icarus doesn't know the difference between a living person and a robot. Lana has to point it out to him. Maybe she is the smartest.

Why is Kid Icarus surprised that Wombatman doesn't do his own stunts. Most actors don't. Only kids make that assumption. Considering this situation and the fact that Kid Icarus looks up to Wombatman, it seems that Kid Icarus actually is a kid - or maybe he's just developmentally challenged (yes, I realize that that's redundant when speaking of characters in this series).

How'd the squid woman get in the hoverchair with the director? She wasn't there at the beginning of the attack.

Why, oh, why does Gameboy have to sing while running his search? It catches even Kevin by surprise.

Being a stereotypical director, the director cares about casting shortly after being rescued.

Why does Wombatman keep his mask on when he's off work?

It's unclear how much of the show is done by the real Wombatman and how much is done by the robots. Since the robots can talk, are they doing all of the work? If so, then how does Wombatman get paid? Is he rich enough that he needs no income. If Wombatman does do his own speaking parts, then wouldn't he have gotten caught up in that robot attack? How'd he escape?

Here's a reason that I don't like this episode: humanoid animals. We have a talking wombat, 2 talking squids, and a talking dog. This makes the episode embarassing to watch.

I'm guessing that the point of Wombatman dropping his robe is to show that he's out of shape, but I really can't tell.

I absolutely love Wombatman's advice to Kid Icarus! So cruel and yet so needed!

Note the use of dramatic music when Kevin tries to cheer Kid Icarus up.

I was rather surprised to hear Mother Brain say "the ride of their deaths". Mother Brain acknowledges that the N Team can die! All right! Take that, you "no death in Videoland" morons!

Why does the studio tour have controls that can make the Dragonlord robot breathe fire on the tourists?

Why does Kevin say "Well, I think this tour is hot" after zapping 2 baddies? It wasn't in response to anything; it just came out of nowhere. Was a line spoken by someone else cut? The copy that I have was taped off of NBC. I don't know if it's the first airing, but, even if it's not, I doubt that NBC would cut a line during reruns. Maybe a line was scripted but not spoken - or scripted and spoken but not animated? Is it possible that Kevin was meant to say this line by itself? Who knows?

Wombatman defending his show as sacred is pathetic, much like how some people believe that Captain N is sacred. You know who you are.

Kid Icarus called Wombatman a chicken, and now he wonders what he said to make Wombatman so upset?!

The N Team Destructo Black Marble? That's quite possibly the stupidest weapon that's been shown in this series so far. I kinda like it, though.

How did Hippo and Eggy make it, though? I doubt they're smart enough. Dr. Wily isn't in this episode. Maybe Eggy conjoured it into existence?

Oh! Marblopolis! The giant marble! I get it! Ah, ha, ha, ha! *face fault*

How can a magnet be so powerful that it pulls up someone as heavy as King Hippo by his crown?

When the Wombatman robot finishes reciting the creed, its lips move for a moment longer. Maybe it's not an animation error, considering that it's a robot, though it probably is.

How did King Hippo get his crown separated from the powerful magnet? For that matter, how did King Hippo pull the magnet to the floor?

How can Wombatman control a sophisticated talking robot with a joystick?

When Nicki says "That's okay, Womby", her electrical bars disappear. Oops.

I've always loved how Mother Brain asks "Who cares?!"

They're filming the episode now. I guess the live idea was either temporary or scrapped.

Doesn't the director know what his spaceship model is supposed to look like? He thinks that the marble is the spaceship model.

I guess Hippo and Eggy dressed up as crewmen to fool the director. How could they fool the N Team, though? Oh, wait, they fooled Simon in Season 1's "The Most Dangerous Game Master" by putting on clothes. Maybe they were concealed by the marble, too.

Why is Mega Man smiling after he catches Simon? He should be concerned that something's wrong.

Why didn't Mega Man let go of Simon when being pulled up? He certainly had enough time.

The director is so concerned about getting good scenes on film that he doesn't care if the cast members are in danger. I think this is carrying the stereotype a little too far for credibility.

How can Lana's line of "Kevin, help! I'm being inhaled!" be Kevin cue, if Lana is being sucked by the marble? Maybe she was scripted to say that even without the marble present? It still seems improbable, though.

Why does Kevin carry Duke? Why does he drop him while climbing out of a hole?

Kevin exclaims "Holy cow!" Does that mean Kevin is Hindu?

Why does Gameboy take the time to joke during a battle? His carelessness could become a seriously liability for the N Team.

It's odd that, earlier, when Kid Icarus insulted him, he claimed that he's Wombatman, but, now, he claims that he's an actor. He should make up his mind.

If Wombatman pressed that button to turn off the TV, why did it take so long (6 seconds) for the TV to turn off?

How can Kid Icarus' arrow be strong enough to keep a door open?

The button that Wombatman presses is first shown to be yellow then shown to be black. It turns yellow only when pressed. Oops.

We finally get the name of the N Team's ship: the Warp Wagon.

I like Kevin's pun at the end: "Well, I guess that's a wrap." I don't know if it was meant to be a pun (squid; wrap; get it?) or simply a typical movie line. It was probably meant to be a pun, considering Kevin's earlier "crush" pun.

Lesson: Don't believe in TV heroes; they'll let you down. You can be heroic, if you believe in yourself.

Well, that's it. The N Team members each now have an acting credit. I bet they'll be big celebrities now. *stares at the ceiling*

Finally, the episode's over. I wasn't very motivated to review it. It's bad, but it's not even in a "so bad, it's good" way. It's just bad.

Now, you may notice that there are far fewer comments in my rant than usual. You may also notice that I skip an unusually large amount of running time between comments. With so much of the episode being basic action, there simply wasn't a whole lot to comment on.

So, with less errors, wouldn't that mean that this episode is good? Well, it would, if it wasn't such a blatant "Batman" rip-off. It's based on a video game only in the sense that it's a rip-off of a 1960s TV series that was based on a comic book that got turned into a movie in 1989 that got turned into a video game. It was made only in a pathetic attempt to sell the "Batman" NES game and/or cash in on the Bat-craze going on at the time (if it hadn't died down by the time that the episode aired, that is).

Also, if they were going to rip off "Batman", why the hell did they rip off the old TV series? They should have ripped off the movie. It would have made the episode better...maybe.

Now, let's look at the writing. It was better than Jeffrey Scott's worst writing ("Happy Birthday, Megaman") but not as good as his best writing ("The Most Dangerous Game Master"). I'd say that it's a bit below average, around the level of "Simon the Ape-Man". The episode was written by Sean Roche & David Ehrman. I question why it took 2 people to write an episode of Captain N - and why the final product wasn't better for it.

The main problem that I have with this episode is personal. I don't like Kid Icarus, and I feel that Wombatman (as an obvious Batman rip-off) is an embarassment. Your opinion may be different.

As for what to cut out, the first thing that I'd get rid of is that part where Kid Icarus thinks that a robot is the real Wombatman. That was extremely stupid. Removing that part would have freed up 16 seconds. Gameboy singing was stupid, so it should have been removed, freeing 8 seconds. Gameboy's "hands" joke was uncalled for. Removing it would have freed an additional 6 seconds. Those 30 seconds could have been better used to show off more of Lana's stuntwork.

Overall, "I Wish I was a Wombatman" was a below-average episode. Skip it.

Usefulness ratings:

Kevin: 4 (destroying the robot, shooting 3 barrels)
Lana: 0
Simon: 0
Mega Man: 4 (catching the director and the squid woman, pulling Kid Icarus away from fire, catching Simon, throwing Mother Brain out the door)
Kid Icarus: 2 (making the hole in the robot for Kevin, keeping the door open with his arrow)
Duke: 0
Gameboy: 1 (locating the robot's control box)

Wow, Kid Icarus sure got less points than I expected in this episode, considering that it centers on him.

The running total usefulness ratings for this season so far are:

Kevin: 14 (2 episodes)
Lana: 2 (2 episodes)
Simon: 4 (2 episodes)
Mega Man: 7 (2 episodes)
Kid Icarus: 3 (2 episodes)
Duke: 3 (2 episodes)
Gameboy: 2 (2 episodes)

The running total usefulness ratings for the series so far are:

Kevin: 61 (15 episodes)
Lana: 11 (15 episodes)
Simon: 25 (15 episodes)
Mega Man: 24 (15 episodes)
Kid Icarus: 26 (15 episodes)
Duke: 17 (15 episodes)
Gameboy: 2 (2 episodes)

Note: I made some errors in my "Gameboy" review. I forgot to add in the points that each team member gained in that episode to the running total usefulness ratings for Kevin, Lana, Simon, Mega Man, Kid Icarus, and Duke for the series. I also counted only 13 episodes, when it should have been 14 episodes.


That's the end of my review of "I Wish I was a Wombatman". "Queen of the Apes" originally aired third in Season 2, so I'll review that next. See you all in my next review!


Back to Episode Reviews